Land of the 10 Games I Want Ported To PC

Yep, it’s time for another PC port request article. Before we go through another one of my wacky lists, I’m proud to announce that yet another game on my long wishlist has managed to make it onto PC. This time, the lucky winner is Dead Rising 3, which honestly kind of surprised me. Considering Capcom and Microsoft both made a big deal about how DR3 was meant to be an Xbox One exclusive, it seems a little funny that roughly one year later, it’s getting ported to PC. Despite the fact that most of the DLC has been confirmed to be released on the new version, XBO owners may have the last laugh. Capcom has not yet announced any plans to port over the most recent DLC, aptly named Super Ultra Dead Rising 3’ Arcade Remix Hyper Edition EX plus Alpha. I wouldn’t be too worried about that, fellow PC gamers. After all, just last year, there were no plans to port Dead Rising 3 to other platforms. So who knows.

So, before we go onto the next list, I’m just going to do the now-traditional recap of the rules for these articles. Only one game per company per list, to keep things interesting. These lists will mostly stick to third-party companies, with the exception of Microsoft, as they are known to release games on PC. Granted, considering the recent release of Q*Bert Rebooted on PC via Steam, I’d almost consider throwing in Sony as well. Just kidding. The games on these lists will mainly be taken from the seventh (Wii/PS3/360) and eighth (WiiU/PS4/XBO) generations of video games, and games that aren’t system exclusives are generally preferred. Finally, games from the same series released on the same console will be packaged together, at least as entries on this list. So, having said that, let’s get started.

Street Fighter 3: 3rd Strike Online Edition – Capcom (360/PS3)

If you’ve seen my earlier lists (or most of my other articles on Retronaissance), you probably know that I love fighting games. The Street Fighter 3 series was one of Capcom’s last good fighting games prior to the release of, well, Street Fighter IV.  Online Edition, well, added some great online play using the GGPO netcode. Considering the fact that GGPO originated on PC and 3rd Strike was mostly jury-rigged into the system (and removed upon OE’s release), it only seems fair that PCs should get a port of this game, regardless of how late it is. Unfortunately, considering how busy Iron Galaxy is working on other projects (including the second season of Killer Instinct on Xbox One), it seems like this would either have to be put on hold or handled by another developer.

Garou: Mark of the Wolves – SNK Playmore (360)

Yep, like I said, I love me some fighting games. Garou: Mark of the Wolves came out about the same time as Street Fighter 3, and at least in my opinion, Garou is the better game. Both games were thematically similar as well: dealing with “next generation” fighters and few returning characters. The port to Xbox 360 was handled well for the most part, but the online was lackluster. Considering SNK Playmore’s good efforts on the netcode for their ports of The King of Fighters XIII and Metal Slug 3, it seems entirely possible that a PC port could fix the game’s fatal flaw. This is probably the game on this particular list I want the most.

Guilty Gear XX Λ Core Plus R – Arc System Works (AC/PS3/360/Vita)

I promise, this is the last fighting game this time. Like I’ve said in earlier entries, when it comes right down to it, I’m more into Blazblue than Guilty Gear when it comes to Arc System Works’s fighting games, but recently I’ve come to appreciate Guilty Gear, despite my shaky start with the franchise. Sure, the first game (exclusive to the original Playstation) is probably my favorite game in the series, but that’s probably because it’s so similar to SNK’s games from that era. Still, I’ve come to appreciate the XX games to some extent. Too bad we’ve only got one of the earliest versions of that on the PC at the moment, and it was a pretty mediocre port anyway. A good port of that latest GGXX release would be a great turnaround on ASW’s current PC support, which is pretty lame. Unfortunately and typical for most Japanese developers, they appear to have something against PC gaming in general. So that’s probably just another pipe dream.

Vanquish – Sega/Platinum (360/PS3)

This was another one of those games supported by that petition to Sega I posted awhile back. So why not? Vanquish was a third-person shooter made by Platinum Games, and it performed to their usual standards. A well-designed game, but it didn’t exactly set the sales charts on fire. As usual, I feel like a PC port might help this out, especially considering they’ve managed to get their engine working on PC for the Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance port. Seems a little more likely than the Bayonetta port I asked for in the original list, considering Nintendo’s recently secured a remastered port as bonus content for Bayonetta 2. At this point, who knows?

Dragon’s Crown – Atlus/Vanillaware (PS3/PSVita)

I love beat-‘em-ups, I asked for Muramasa in a previous list, and I even sided with the creators during the controversy regarding the character designs. Asking for Dragon’s Crown to be ported to PC is pretty obvious. Sure, PC has recently seen the release of another cool medieval fantasy-themed beat-‘em-up published by the folks at Atlus (Abyss Odyssey, from the talented dev team that brought us Rock of Ages and God Mode), but one good turn deserves another, right?

No More Heroes series – Grasshopper Manufacture/Konami (Wii/PS3/360)

If you haven’t guessed it by now, I’m a huge fan of Suda51. Granted, his newest game, Let It Die, looks a bit disappointing, but he’s made so many good games, I guess I can let one boring, free-to-play, PS4-exclusive with mobile features slip by. Instead, let’s remember the good times. Specifically, the games that made me a huge fan of Grasshopper Manufacture: the No More Heroes games. While the first game in the series got a remastered release on HD consoles, the second remains a Wii exclusive (though some elements made it into the HD ports of the original). I’d love to see both games make their way to PC, maybe even maintaining the potential for motion controls. After all, PC has their own motion controllers to contend with. At least that’s what some of the Portal 2 DLC leads me to believe.

Galaga Legions DX – Bandai Namco (X360/PS3)

When I was in Junior High, one of my friend’s father got a retro arcade machine as an anniversary present. It had both Ms. Pac-Man and Galaga included on it, and he and I had a lot of fun playing with it whenever we were hanging out at his place. I can’t honestly decide whether I preferred playing Ms. Pac-Man or Galaga, but as Ms. Pac-Man’s already on Steam (via the Pac-Man Museum), seeing Galaga make its way on the platform would be a nice addition. Of course, why stop at plain old Galaga? After all, I’d say my favorite Pac-Man game at this point in time is probably Championship Edition DX (also on Steam) and it just so happens that Galaga got a similar revamp a while ago.  Galaga Legions DX looks like a cross between the classic Galaga arcade game and a more modern shoot-‘em-up, along the lines of Ikaruga. In short, Legions DX is my kind of revamp.

Raiden IV: OverKill – Taito/Moss Ltd./UFO Interactive (AC/360/PS3)

Speaking of shmups, why not throw in the latest release from the classic Raiden series? Apparently, the collection of the Raiden Fighters spinoff series made it to PC at one point (though, I haven’t really seen it available on any of my usual digital storefronts), so it’s not entirely unheard of to see games from this series on PC. A straight port of the 360 version with all the DLC included would be nice, but considering there was an improved re-release on the PS3 via PlayStation Network just this year, that would be my preference.

Radiant Silvergun – Treasure (AC/360)

Just one more shmup, I swear. Another classic game from Treasure’s library, people were surprised and amazed when this got re-released on XBLA back in 2011. The 360 release was more than a mere port: the entire game was recreated from the source code, taking advantage of the comparative power of the hardware. There was even a secret “Ikaruga Mode” that allowed Radiant Silvergun to use the scoring mechanics of the game in question, which could be unlocked when you unlock an achievement in the XBLA port of Ikaruga. There were also local and online coop modes. Considering we’ve already got Ikaruga itself on Steam and Treasure has acknowledged there is a demand for Radiant Silvergun to be ported to PCs alongside its spiritual successor, this one seems like it’s inevitable. However, considering Treasure’s said to be working on an original project for PCs at the moment, we may see this one later rather than sooner.

Ys: Memories of Celceta – Nihon Falcom/XSeed (PSVita)

The tenth and final game on this list, like last time, is a game from the Ys series. The latest release in the series, this is actually a remake of the fourth game in the series. Considering the remake of the third game was the first Ys game to be released on Steam, it would be nice to Memories of Celceta continue the trend. Granted, one of the PC-original Ys games getting a revamp/re-release may be more feasible and likely, I’d still like to see this remake make its way to a platform with a larger audience than that of the Vita.

Just as an aside, I’d like to say that I’m impressed that my streak for predicting PC ports so far has stayed intact through 4 lists. It almost seems like the more skeptical I am that my master list will continue to deliver, the better releases I seem to snag. Nevertheless, I can’t really say if this trend will continue or not. We’ll just have to see in a couple more months.

One thought on “Land of the 10 Games I Want Ported To PC

  1. Pingback: The Year Without a PC Port Wishlist | Retronaissance: The Blog!

Leave a Reply

