Battle for The 10 Games I Want Ported to PC

Yep, it’s time for another one of my bi-monthly PC port wishlists. However, before I begin, I’d like to thank SNK Playmore for not only single-handedly keeping my streak alive, but exceeding it. When I was first outlining this specific entry, I was extremely worried that the dream was dead, as the only major PC port of note was for Ryse: Son of Rome, a game which I honestly would not have minded remaining an Xbox One exclusive. Then, near the beginning of the month, SNK Playmore announced that Metal Slug X was coming to Steam in early October, alongside MS3 which came out earlier this year. While that was enough of a boon to keep me motivated, SNK wasn’t done yet. Later on in the month, SNK also revealed in a press release that they would be releasing two entries in their King of Fighters series that have been long rumored to be receiving official PC ports: The King of Fighters ’98 Ultimate Match (bumped up to the “Final Edition” which appeared on NESiCAxLive, a Japanese arcade system that allows for online play) and The King of Fighters 2002 Unlimited Match (which also appears to be using the NESiCAxLive port). ’98 will be hitting Steam in November, while 2002 is set to launch in December, which brings the grand total of games on my wishlist that ended up hitting PC to a solid 7. Not bad, considering this is the fifth list and I’ve only got seven planned at the moment.

One last piece of good news before we move on: both Dead Rising 2 and its non-canon spinoff Off the Record are following suit with Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition and transferring from the currently-zombified (but still technically alive) Games for Windows Live to Steamworks early next year, along with Resident Evil 5 (which, to the best of my knowledge, still lacks the content from the Gold Edition). It’s not exactly new PC ports from Capcom, but it’s a step in the right direction. Hopefully we’ll see some new ports of older console games hit Steam from them in the future, along with new stuff. Though, honestly, I’d also be happy if they ported over Street Fighter x Tekken, especially if they include the rest of the DLC on there.

Before we get to the fun stuff, I’m going to be recapping the rules once again, for anyone who hasn’t read any of the previous articles in this series. Anyone who hasn’t, I’d highly recommend doing so. A lot of my most-wanted games are in earlier articles from this series, but don’t get me wrong: I want everything on here (and then some). My lists stick mostly to third-party companies (aside from Microsoft) with a general focus on companies that have recently released games on PC. Games will be taken from the seventh (360/Wii/PS3) and eighth (WiiU/PS4/XBO) generations of video games, as well as handhelds from those eras and mobile games. Games that weren’t system exclusives are preferred. Finally, games from the same series released on the same console can be packaged together on a single list entry. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s see what I’ve picked out this time.

Capcom Arcade Cabinet – Capcom (360/PS3)

Sure, I won the complete pack for this game in a contest, but I’d feel a lot more secure if it were on PCs as well. I’ve got at least one friend that agrees with me. It would also be a little nostalgic for me, considering as I mentioned before, I owned the PC version of Williams Arcade Classics. Despite the fact that most of Capcom’s biggest arcade hits are absent from this collection, it is an interesting look into the developer’s early history, before they made it big with hits like MegaMan, Street Fighter and Resident Evil. Just port that sucker over to Steam, keep the leaderboards and maybe throw in a feature to upload replays to Youtube and it would be a perfect addition to Steam, which is sorely lacking in arcade game compilations.

Soul Calibur – Namco Bandai (360/iOS/Android)

I brought up how I wanted the recent re-release of Soul Calibur II to hit PC last time, but I’m incredibly fond of the first 3 games in the Soul series. I’m one of those apparently rare people who actually played Soul Blade on the original PlayStation (still own a copy to this day), but I remember that the series had its first mainstream success with the original Soul Calibur. It was a launch title for the Sega Dreamcast and the game I picked up with the console itself. To this day, I still love this game and I felt it was worth the $10 I paid for the re-release on XBLA, even though it was missing some features. Ideally, if Soul Calibur gets ported to PC, it would combine the extra modes and features from the Dreamcast version with the enhanced HD visuals of the XBLA version.

Cyber Troopers Virtual-On/Virtual-On Oratorio Tangram/Virtual-On Force – Sega (360/PS3)

Virtual-On is another one of those interesting Sega games that people forget about, especially for people outside of Japan. It’s one of those arena-style fighting games, where you pilot two real-type mechas around a fully 3D arena, allowing for a more tactical methodology when trying to defeat your opponent. The first game actually had a couple of PC ports way back when, but it was recently re-released as a part of Sega’s Model 2 Collection for XBLA and PSN exclusively in Japan. The third game, unique because it featured 2-on-2 fighting for 4 players, saw a disc-based re-release on Xbox 360, but again only in Japan. In fact, the only game in the series we actually saw re-released last-gen in the West was Oratorio Tangram (or VOOT, for short). Frankly, I’d love to see all 3 of these games hit PC, but VOOT seems like the most likely to get the Steam treatment.

Under Night In-Birth Exe:Late – Ecole Software/French Bread (AC/PS3)

It’s another animu fighter, but it looks pretty fun and frankly, I could go for more fighters on PC, 2D or otherwise. Truth be told, I’ve actually been campaigning for this one, just like I did with Bayonetta and Vanquish. Nyu Media, a Western publisher that deals mostly in Japanese indie games, has shown some interest in porting this game over to PC. French Bread used to develop mainly on PC, so there’s still a chance it might happen, but considering the fact that Arc System Works handled the console port and that’s already being localized by Aksys Games in North America and NIS America in Europe (I know, it doesn’t make any sense), it seems like the dream might be dead on this one. Still, if you head over to Nyu Media’s forums, there’s a thread supporting a PC release, so hopefully, this might happen after all if enough people voice their support for it.

Metal Slug/Metal Slug 2/Metal Slug X* – SNK Playmore (iOS/Android)

I mentioned earlier that Metal Slug X has already been announced for PC via Steam, but that still leaves the first two games in the series. While I’d honestly like to see the entire franchise hit Steam at some point, Metal Slugs 1 and 2 are the only games available on modern platforms that are unaccounted for. Granted, X is an enhanced remake of 2 that is generally considered superior, but I’d still like to see all of the Metal Slugs on PC regardless. I tend to be a completionist when it comes to re-releases. Want proof? I was actually pissed off when Warner Bros’ Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection included Ultimate MK3 and not the basic version. Of course, the best way to deal with that would be to just package 1 & 2 in a single release on PC. That’s my opinion, anyway.

Alien Hominid HD – The Behemoth (360/PS3)

Speaking of Metal Slug, Alien Hominid is probably one of the best Metal Slug clones around. Some might argue that there’s no point in having it on Steam if we’ve already got the original, but I say the more the merrier. I loved the original incarnation of Alien Hominid (the flash game on Newgrounds) so much, I rented the original console release on Gamecube way back when. It was fun, but I wasn’t really buying too many games back at that point. Considering Castle Crashers and Battleblock Theatre did fairly well on Steam, it only makes sense that The Behemoth should embrace its roots and release more games on PC. Why not start with their first major release?

Hard Corps: Uprising – Konami/Arc System Works (360/PS3)

I’ve said before that the original Contra for the NES was one of three games that got me into video games in the first place. What you may not know is that it’s not actually my favorite game in the series. That honor belongs to Contra: Hard Corps for the Sega Genesis. So imagine my surprise and delight when I heard it was getting a sequel, developed by Arc System Works no less. Too bad it’s exclusive to PSN and XBLA. Even though ASW is notoriously bad at PC support, I’m sure Konami could find a team to port it over to PC. Hopefully, they also manage to find one that does a good job. Abstraction Games is pretty good at what they do, I liked their work on Double Dragon Neon.

Raystorm HD – Taito [Square Enix] (360/PS3)

I’ll be honest, I’ve never actually played this game or any other game in the series, but I do love me some shmups, especially those of the vertical variety.  Likewise, I’m a fan of Taito’s games in general. So this definitely seems like it’s worth it. Considering the fact that Square Enix has been a bit less stingy about PC ports of non-Eidos titles these days, hopefully we can see some stuff from the folks at Taito as well.

Dodonpachi Resurrection Deluxe – Cave/Rising Star Games (AC/360/iOS/Android)

I love me some Cave shmups. Considering the fact that this game never actually hit North American shores, we were lucky enough to see a region-free European release via publisher Rising Star Games, which is slowly gaining a presence in our region. As I said before, Rising Star Games has started getting into the PC scene, as they both developed and published the PC port of Deadly Premonition: Director’s Cut. Supposedly, Dodonpachi Resurrection is going to be hitting North America via Android phones, though whether or not this is still happening, I can’t confirm. Hopefully, Rising Star or some other publisher can expose a whole new audience to Cave’s unique brand of shoot-‘em-ups.

Eschatos – Qute (360)

An obscure choice I admit, but it’s a game that I’ve been obsessing over since I discovered it. Only available for Xbox 360 in Japan (although, it IS region-free), Eschatos is actually bundled with two other shmups from the same developer: Judgement Silversword and Cardinal Sins, so it’s really 3 games for the price of one. Still, a Japanese Xbox 360 release is pretty much nothing and from what I’m able to glean, it didn’t even get an arcade release. Port that sucker to PC and put it on Steam Greenlight. Hell, I’m sure Nyu Media or PLAYISM would be willing to help with some of the details.

There you have it, another batch of 10 games I’d like to see ported to PC. Truth be told, I was honestly really nervous about writing this article due to the lack of any games on any of my wishlists (past, present and yes, future) getting announced for PC ports until right before my own self-imposed deadline. I got really lucky this time, considering I’ve tripled my usual yield of 1 game per wishlist. Hopefully, a stronger flow of anticipated ports is in my future and my winning streak continues to grow, but who can say at this point in time? I’ll be keeping an eye out for anything else though. At the very least, those recently-announced Steamworks conversions of older games from Capcom are giving me an iota of hope that we might see something from them at some point.

2 thoughts on “Battle for The 10 Games I Want Ported to PC

  1. Pingback: 10 Games I’d Like To See Re-Released #06: Konami | Retronaissance: The Blog!

  2. Pingback: The Year Without a PC Port Wishlist | Retronaissance: The Blog!

Leave a Reply

